A Wife’s Guilt

It’s been one of those weeks, so please bear with me.

I’m feeling guilty.

I work in Manhattan and have a 2 hour each-way commute. For those of you who are slow with math (like yours truly) that’s a 4 hour commute every day, without counting any train delays. So obviously, I get home super later during the week.

That means my amazing, handsome, smart and talented husband cooks, cleans and does laundry for us the entire work week. I come home, eat what he has prepared, sit on the couch for like a half hour and go to bed.

AKA I’m the worst new wife ever. And I’m feeling guilty about it.

I know John understands, and he is very supportive of my career. When I’m home, I try to make up for my work-week lackings by cooking and keeping up with the apartment.

But there are times that I can’t help but feel like he deserves more.

I’m not sure how I can get over feeling this way, other than just showing him how much I appreciate all that he does for our little family of two. I thank God every day for bringing John into my life, making me smile and laugh whenever I’m feeling down, being up for adventure whenever I’m feeling restless and rubbing my feet when they hurt after wearing heels all day.

I’m one of the lucky ones.

John,
You have no idea how much I appreciate everything you do. Every day I’m floored by the man you are. I never in my wildest dreams thought I’d marry you, the tall, dark and handsome boy I used to secretly stalk down our high school hallways. But all that said,  here we are.

I thank God every day for you, for our life together. I’m grateful for our love story, for what we have right now, and for the future we are building together.

I hope to one day be the wife you truly deserve. For now I’ll continue being your best friend, biggest cheerleader and love-drunk fool. And I promise to love you with every fiber of my being, forever.

Your girl,
Ashley Jane

5 thoughts on “A Wife’s Guilt

  1. You’re not a bad wife if for no more reason than you want to be able to do more! You realize, recognice, and appreciate everything your husband does. You work had at your job and I’m sure he appreciates that, too.

    I do understand how you’re feeling, though. I have a demanding job that requires me to take calls and go into the office at all time of the night and weekends. I always feel really guilty cancelling plans, waking him up in he middle of the night when I get up to take a call, or even just working in the evenings on the couch.

    Sounds like we both have keepers 🙂

  2. Such a sweet post! I can totally relate to how you feel. I feel like my husband gets the short end of the stick all too often.

    I want to CRY for you having that long of a commute. I feel sorry for myself for my 45 minute commute. Wow, I have no room to complain!

    It sounds like you are very grateful for your husband, and I’m sure he appreciates that! I always make up for our time lost on the weekends 😉

Leave a Reply

