Oreo Heaven

Today’s post comes to you courtesy of my favorite website ever, Pinterest.

I recently found a recipe from Dinner with the Donnells for Oreo Truffles. Yes, you heard me right. OREO TRUFFLES. I obviously had to try this recipe out, especially after I saw how easy they were to make.

I try to avoid complicated recipes at all costs. Obviously. You’re talking to a girl who can screw up a peanut butter & jelly sandwich.

Anywho, I digress. Back to the Oreo truffles.

To make these bad boys, you only need a few ingredients. Oreos, cream cheese and chocolate baking squares. With three ingredients, it can’t be that hard, right?!

The first thing I did was take the Oreo’s and pulverize them using my food processor.

Create a fine crumb out of the crushed Oreos.

I let the cream cheese soften, then mixed it with the Oreo crumbs. I found this difficult to do with a spoon, so I mixed everything together with my hands.

I took the mixture and formed little truffle balls.

I put the balls in the fridge, just to harden them a little bit. This is when I heated the chocolate squares.

When the squares were completely melted, I took the balls out of the fridge and covered them all in the chocolate-y goodness. At first I tried to be super neat about it, but got impatient with it. I’m no Martha Stewart over here!

Once all the truffles were covered with chocolate, I set them in the fridge to harden.

One more..

I let the truffles sit for about one hour and took a few out to sample. I personally thought it could sit in the fridge just a little more to get more of a crunch, but John thought they were fine just like that. And can I say…WOW.

Looks good right? Well, they didn’t just taste good…they tasted AWESOME! I think I impressed my husband, which is always a good thing. He even said he liked them better than the professional truffles we bought as favors for our wedding. And those truffles were incredible.

The best thing about this recipe is that it tastes like it took a lot of hard work, when really, it’s pretty simple. Gotta love treats like that.

 

Now excuse me, I have some truffles to go eat.

I just realized that this could sort of count as a Pinterest Challenge: Fall Edition submission! Since I cook recipes from Pinterest often, my official “entry” is going to be a DIY project for the apartment. I know…me? DIY something?? Well, I’m going to give it a whirl people! Not sure what exactly I’m going to make just yet, but I’m excited to do it!

14 thoughts on “Oreo Heaven

  1. Pingback: My Pinterest Challenge: Fall Edition DIY! « Lewis in Love

  2. oohhh, I had sooo forgotten about these!! We used to make them dipped in white chocolate. Such a super simple, rich dessert. Thanks so much for sharing and jogging my memory!!

Leave a Reply

