Kicking off November

HAPPY NOVEMBER, EVERYONE!!!

I love the month of November. The weather is [usually] nice, everything is pumpkin-flavored, I celebrate my birthday and my family all comes to town for Thanksgiving. All the ingredients for a terrific month, right?

Since I was a little girl, Thanksgiving has been special for me, mostly because I love being with my family. My big brother went off to college the year I went into kindergarten (yea, talk about an age difference) and since he did ROTC (and then subsequently was away with the Navy), I rarely got to see him. No matter what though, it always seemed like he made it home for Thanksgiving. Now that my older siblings all have children, Thanksgiving seems to be more joyous than ever.

To help further that joyous feeling throughout the month of November, the amazing blog Paisley Print Shoes has kicked off a “challenge” of sorts: every day take a moment to blog, write or just reflect on what you are thankful for that day. It seems simple, but I’m sure just taking a moment of your day to think about what you are thankful for will do a ton for your feeling of self-satisfaction and happiness.

So today, I want to say how thankful I am for my siblings. I’m lucky to come from a relatively big family, one brother and three sisters. Each one of them is different, and completely vital to my existence. I feel lucky to have them in my life, and while I don’t get to see some of them nearly as much as I wish I could, when we do see each other it’s like time has never passed. I’m truly blessed.

Okay, now back to the regular Lewis in Love blogging.

The window in my living room has been bugging me. Something was just off about it, and I couldn’t really put my finger on it.

When we first put up the curtains, I only wanted to put them on the outside of the window, to frame it as one massive window. In the beginning, I liked it.

But then it started to irritate me. It didn’t feel “soft” and “homey” enough. I realized that I needed to add more curtain panels to even out the entire window.

Luckily for me, we have an abundance of matching curtains around here (they were hand-me-down’s from my mother-in-law). All we had to do was iron them (which I hated) and hang them up.

Presto change-o, instant softness!

I love how it looks now. Everything feels a little more tied together. Now I just need to get my hands on some pillows and I will be all set!

P.S — how cute is my new pumpkin centerpiece? I got him at Kohl’s for $6. I love him!

Anyone else participating in Thankful November? How is your Pinterest Challenge DIY coming along? I can’t wait to see what everyone comes up with!!!

18 thoughts on “Kicking off November

  1. Pingback: Wednesday Thanks « Lewis in Love

  2. Pingback: Thankful Tuesday « Lewis in Love

  3. Pingback: Because Sometimes Baking is Hard « Lewis in Love

  4. Pingback: The CLAW! « Lewis in Love

  5. Pingback: Holiday Madness « Lewis in Love

  6. Pingback: Apartment Cheating « Lewis in Love

  7. Pingback: Cheers to Freakin’ Weekend « Lewis in Love

Leave a Reply

