Surf & Turf Saturday

Oh, Monday. We meet again, unfortunately.

Did anyone else have the world’s fastest weekend? Mine just flew. Even with the extra hour of sleep (which I am so very thankful for) I’m wishing we had a few more days to relax and unwind. A girl can dream, right?

John and I had a really nice Saturday night. I wanted to try out a new recipe, so we decided to pair the new with an old favorite — marinated skirt steak. The marinade is from my mother-in-law, and she can be super secretive about her recipes, so unfortunately I can’t share it. I don’t want to make her mad only 5 months into my marriage!

But I can share the new Cilantro Lime Shrimp recipe I found. It was extremely flavorful and different, but if you don’t like spicy, this is probably not the recipe for you.

First, I chopped a few cloves of garlic, an onion and jalapeno and threw it into my pan with some butter and oil.

Once the onions started to appear a little cooked, we added red pepper flakes and oregano.

While the onions were cooking, I chopped up two tomatoes. When the onions looked translucent, I threw the tomatoes in.

After the tomatoes cooked for a bit and seemed soft, I added a pound of split and deveined shrimp.

During this time I stirred the shrimp in the pan with the other ingredients, so they were able to soak up all the juices. When the shrimp seemed to have cooked through, I added salt, pepper and lime zest and juice. I stirred everything together, and removed the pan from the heat and added chopped cilantro.

While I was doing this, John put his steaks on our “indoor grill.”

The final product was amazing. How good do these shrimp look??

They were crazy flavorful. The jalapeno definitely packed a punch though, so if you aren’t into eye-watering meals I would suggest you skip this one. As for us, we’ll definitely be making this recipe again!

Ingredients

  • 1 tblsp. butter
  • 1 tblsp. olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 jalapeno, finely chopped
  • ¼ tsp. red pepper flakes
  • ½ tsp. oregano
  • 2 tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 lime, zest and juice
  • ½ tsp. salt
  • ½ tsp. black pepper
  • 1 pound shrimp, split and deveined
  • 2 tblsp. chopped cilantro

Directions

  1. Melt butter and oil over medium-high heat.
  2. Add garlic, onion and jalapeno.
  3. Cook, stirring until the onion begins to wilt, approximately 3 minutes.
  4. Add the red pepper flakes and oregano.
  5. Continue cooking until the onion becomes translucent, approximately 3 additional minutes.
  6. Add the tomatoes.
  7. Cook, stirring occasionally, until the tomatoes are soft.
  8. Add the shrimp, zest and lime juice, salt and black pepper.
  9. Cook until the shrimp are just opaque.
  10. Remove the pan from the heat and stir in the cilantro.
  11. Eat ’em up!

Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Surf & Turf Saturday

  1. Pingback: Call Me Shrimpy « Little House. Big Heart.

Leave a Reply

