Chock full of Chocolate

Today I am thankful for my friends. I have some wonderfully talented, smart, giving and kooky friends out there that I just love to pieces. Many of them, read this blog and don’t make fun of me TOO much for what I write on here. And for that, you guys are the best.

***

I made a new cookie recipe this weekend. I know this is becoming hum-drum around these parts, but I like sweets. Plus I can use this blog as an excuse as to why my pants are fitting more tightly these days.

John picked this cookie out. He’s a choco-holic, so this recipe was calling his name.

The recipe originally called for just bittersweet chocolate chips, but I decided to switch it up (aka they didn’t have those at the store), and I bought a bag of dark chocolate and peanut butter/milk chocolate mix. It’s a chocolate-y jambalaya!

The first step of this recipe is to put a cup and a half of your chocolate chips in a glass bowl and microwave it. Easy enough.

Then, I had to take the three egg whites and beat them to “soft peaks.” This was crazy baker talk to me since I’m hopeless in the kitchen, but I decided to just keep beating and beating and beating, and eventually the egg whites got super fluffy and soft.

Next you take the cocoa, sugar, cornstarch, and salt and mix it all together in a medium sized bowl.

Once you have the dry ingredients together, you combine it with the fluffy egg whites using the electric mixer.

Obviously, I forgot to take a picture of the wet and dry ingredients combined. It made a very pretty light brown color.I’m an awesome blogger.

Once the wet/dry ingredients are combined and fluffy, you combine it with the melted chocolate chips. Isn’t the dark/light chocolate combo pretty?

Once the ingredients are all mixed together, it should be pretty thick. If yours is thick enough, you can start rolling the mixture into cookie balls. My dough wasn’t thick enough for some reason, so I put it in the fridge for about 20 minutes to harden up. When I make this again, I think I will leave it in the fridge for at least an hour. I felt my dough was still a bit too sticky to roll into balls and therefore my balls weren’t as big as they should have been.

Did I just write that?

Lesson learned.

I rolled the chocolate balls in sugar and plopped them on the cookie trays and baked for about 12 minutes.

The finished product?

INSANE CHOCOLATE EXPLOSION.

I kid you not. They are almost too chocolate-y. Normally would say that’s not possible, but I think I rolled the balls too small and the ratio of dough to chocolate chips was off. All I taste is chocolate chips…no cookie!

Also, my cookies didn’t rise as much as they were supposed to. I don’t think I whipped the egg whites long enough. Fail blogger. However, despite being somewhat pathetic looking, they are pretty good tasting!

Enjoy!

Ingredients

  • Nonstick vegetable oil spray
  • 1 1/2 cups bittersweet chocolate chips, divided (again, I used dark chocolate, milk chocolate and peanut butter in my version)
  • 3 large egg whites, room temperature
  • 2 cups powdered sugar, divided
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Spray 2 large baking sheets with nonstick spray.
  2. Melt 1 cup chocolate chips in glass bowl in microwave, stirring twice, about 2 minutes. Cool slightly.
  3. Using electric mixer, beat whites in large bowl to soft peaks.
  4. Gradually beat in 1 cup sugar. Continue beating until mixture resembles soft marshmallow creme. Whisk 1 cup sugar, cocoa, cornstarch, and salt in medium bowl to blend.
  5. On low speed, beat dry ingredients into meringue. Stir in lukewarm chocolate and 1/2 cup chocolate chips (dough will become very stiff).
  6. Refrigerate dough should it not become stiff on its own (approximately an hour if not longer).
  7. Place 1/2 cup sugar in bowl. Roll 1 rounded tablespoon dough into ball; roll in sugar, coating thickly. Place on prepared sheet. Repeat with remaining dough, spacing 2 inches apart.
  8. Bake until puffed and tops crack, about 10 minutes. Cool on sheets on rack 10 minutes. Transfer to rack; cool.
5 thoughts on “Chock full of Chocolate

  1. Yum! Those look delicious. I’ve been searching for a new cookie recipe and this one seems perfect. Oh and one way to know if the whites have reached the “soft peaks” stage is to take out the mixer and check if the peaks formed are soft and lose their form quickly. “Stiff peaks” would be when, if you take out the mixer, the peaks keep their form. I hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

