Apartment Cheating

Today I am thankful for relaxing nights with my husband. Last night we ate tacos, drank some coronas and watched television. Seemingly low-key but very good for the heart. It’s nights like those that get me through hectic work weeks.

***

I’ve been day dreaming about owning a house.

Is this seriously happening after only 5 months of living in the apartment of my dreams?

I feel like I’m cheating on our little home. Which frustrates me because John and I looked so long to find it, and we genuinely love living here. The big, retro-vibe kitchen, the hardwood floors, my walk-in closet… it’s a renters dream space. But the budding housewife in me can’t help but sometimes wish for more.

We keep hearing, “it’s a buyers market” and “now’s the time for you guys to do it,” and we know all that. But it’s just not the right time for us.

I don’t want to wish away this time. We’re newlyweds with no real “life commitments.” Sure, we both have demanding careers, but we have no children to raise, animals to care for, lawns to mow. We can travel the world on a whim. That’s what we need right now.

I struggle with living in the moment. Ever since I was a little girl, I’ve always been looking to what’s next. My parents always talk about how as a little girl I was never content with what I was doing at that moment. From the other, bigger, better rollercoaster at the theme park or the next vacation we go on, I struggled with being grateful for what I had at that exact moment.

I’m working on it.

I’m a do-er, a dreamer and a planner. I struggle to just let things be. That being said, I am trying.

So, I’m sorry little apartment. I hope you know how much I love you and how much I cherish the memories we are making.

If you need to blame someone, blame Pinterest for throwing pictures of houses like this in my face.

Le sigh

9 thoughts on “Apartment Cheating

  1. It’s totally fine to feel that way! My hubby and I are currently in the getting a mortgage process of house buying and we get to start looking this weekend! We are so stoked to buy a house and paint and decorate! It will just be so nice to put work into something we actually own. You’ll always look back at your first place together with fond memories but it’s fine to want something more. I know I’ll look back and say “Awww our first house, glad we moved though, I hated the carpet and the heat didnt work right.” πŸ˜‰

  2. You are singing my song. I was nodding my head, yes, yes, yes after everything you wrote. I’m the exact same way. We’re living in a tiny, cramped house, and I keep waiting to build our dream house. I mean it wasn’t 2 months after we moved in that I started daydreaming of our dream house. It’s hard not to keep wanting more when you are a dreamer and a do-er! I just keep telling myself that these days are the good days, and one day I’ll miss this little cramped house!

  3. It’s so easy to start thinking about what you want in the future. I mean, even as little kids people always ask what you want to be when you grow up.

    And you aren’t really cheating on your apartment by just thinking of other houses. You’d have to fall in love with 1 house for it to cheating πŸ™‚

  4. Houses are sooo much work. It’s nice to hear that you are taking your time and enjoying your beautiful apartment! Sometimes I miss living in a one bedroom condo (so much less to clean, lol, and no stress of a big mortgage). The good thing is, the market isn’t changing anytime soon =)

Leave a Reply

