She’s Baaaaack

Today I am thankful for my husband. Marrying John was the best thing that ever happened to me. He inspires me, challenges me, reminds me of everything I want in life, and keeps me sane. He knows exactly what to do to make me smile and tries to do so every day. I am so thankful for the life that we have together now, and the life that we are building for the future.

***

Call off the search teams and rescue dogs! I am alive.

My sincerest apologies for going missing last week. Monday and Tuesday were INSANE at work, and I couldn’t find a second to post. Then Wednesday was my birthday (heehee) and I got distracted and Thursday was Thanksgiving and Friday was Black Friday and well…you get the picture.

But I am back! And with lots to update you on this week.

Like I said, Wednesday was my birthday. I spend the day at the social security office and the DMV officially changing my name. I have to say, I was a little sad to see Lewis go away. That name is a part of who I am, and it not being a part of my name feels a little strange. I’m sure I’ll get used to my new last name, though.

As far as my birthday present…John did good. I’m one of the lucky ones with a husband who’s the best gift giver. Seriously. Check out this new beauty I’m rocking.

I’m in love.

On Wednesday we had a little get-together at the apartment which was lovely, and a nice little prelude to the Christmas Party we are hosting the weekend before Christmas. Our apartment is small, but the layout is pretty decent for a party. Thank goodness!

We had a wonderful Thanksgiving with our families, and were lucky enough to spend a decent amount of time with both sides. Since John and I are from the same town, splitting the holiday isn’t too tough for us to do. My brother was in town, so I was able to spend some time with my one niece and nephew that I rarely get to see. Plus seeing all the kids together playing so nicely was a treat. I have some GREAT nieces and nephews. I’m one proud auntie.

Friday my mom, sister and sister-in-law shopped until we dropped for Black Friday. I know some people hate shopping on Black Friday, but I absolutely love it. I always get a lot done, and get to spend some quality time with my mom and sisters.

I was also able to start some Christmas decorating around the ol’ apartment. I have a fun craft to share tomorrow (have to put the finish touches on it tonight) but for now I want to show you our fun Christmas-theme window.

I also put out my favorite little Santa. He’s so old school looking and I love him!

Stay tuned for more Christmas decorations. We did a lot this weekend! Hope you all had a WONDERFUL Thanksgiving. Did any of you go shopping for Black Friday? Start Christmas decorating? I missed you all!

14 thoughts on “She’s Baaaaack

  1. Happy belated birthday! I’m right there with you on the black Friday shopping. The lines are long, and the day is equally as long, but its fun just to hang out with my mom. I didn’t find tons of great deals, but it was still really fun to go!

  2. Happy Belated Birthday! I LOVE the old school Santa! So cute! I also understand the weirdness of changing your name. It’s so weird when people call me Mrs. Rowlands! I actually couldn’t part with my maiden name though so I dropped my middle name and replaced it with Kern. Funny how we get attached to a name… Happy Decorating!

    • Thank you!!! That’s great you kept your maiden name as a middle name. I’m oddly VERY attached to my middle name (it’s my mom’s name and hopefully my future daughter’s name) so I was actually very unwilling to let that go as well. Guess I’m not good at change!! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Santa! I know him! « Lewis in Love

Leave a Reply

