So Not Cookie Cutter

Today I am thankful for Christmas music. Christmas music is a SERIOUS mood booster for me. The second one of my favorites comes on I’m smiling and singing along like I have no cares in the world. Man, I love me some Christmas spirit.

***

Attention everyone! I was crafty again!

Yes, I am just as shocked as you are. And this craft wasn’t even inspired by Pinterest. It was from my own head. CRAZINESS.

I went to Michael’s on Black Friday and they were having awesome sales. I ended up buying two packages of snowflake cookie cutters and some heavy sparkle cardstock. I obviously couldn’t buy just plain cardstock. It had to have red, green and gold sparkles all over it. This is very important to the story.

Anyway, I decided to trace the cardstock to the shape of the snowflakes and then used my exact-o knife to cut out the shape. I tried using a scissor, but it didn’t cut as nicely as I wanted.

The next step was realizing I got sparkles EVERYWHERE. All over me, the couch, the kitchen, the living room, John…everything. Not sure how I would have avoided this, but it happened.

After all the shapes were cut out and I took a break to watch Homeland (any of you watching that?? It’s SO good!), I hot glued the cardstock to the back of the cookie cutters.

Then I put some ribbon on these bad boys. I hot glued them starting from the middle of the cardstock, to the top center of the cookie cutter. Gluing the ribbon to the top of the cutter evenly distributed the weight of the cookie cutters so they hung correctly. Otherwise they kind of pulled forward, so you’d see more of the top/back of the cutter then you really want. 

 Then I hung my new beauties in front of my kitchen window.

Get it? Cookie cutters…in the kitchen…

Man I’m good.

So what do you think?? I’m pretty proud of myself and I think they look adorable in our kitchen. Success!

23 thoughts on “So Not Cookie Cutter

  1. What a clever idea! So festive and fun!! I just love it, and I’m so glad you shared at Shine On Fridays! I’m sharing this on the One Artsy Mama Facebook page today. 🙂 Cute blog, by the way!

  2. That is so cute, very doable in a place like ours with little storage. And I changed my last name over a year and a half ago and it is still weird to me to not have my maiden name (even though I love being Mrs. Winks)!

  3. Pingback: Santa! I know him! « Lewis in Love

Leave a Reply

