Fa La La La…our Christmas tree!

Well, ho ho ho, our tree is up!

There are few things that my husband puts his “foot down” about. Getting a real Christmas tree was one of them. He grew up with a real tree, as did I, but in the last 5 or so years, my parents switched over to an artificial tree. John was adamant that we have a real one, no if’s and’s or but’s about it.

So we got ourself a 6-foot Frasier tree, and finally got her up and decorated in the apartment.

It’s funny what you learn with your first Christmas tree. Like the fact 400 lights means diddly squat to a tree that’s lush and full. Whoops. Next year we will be buying more.

Another thing we learned is while it seemed like we had a ton of ornaments, our tree literally ate them up. We have so many empty spots just YEARNING for an ornament. John thinks I’m overreacting, since this is our first tree and the whole point is that we have a lifetime together to obtain ornaments that actually mean something to us. And well, I know he’s right…but still.

Being that we are newlyweds, a lot of our ornaments have a marriage or love theme. Lots of heart-shapes, like these love birds…

And whimsical bridal froggies…

My mother bought us this Lenox 2011 bride and groom. Probably the classiest ornament we have on the tree, and it’s definitely a keepsake…

Stemming from a tradition my family keeps, we bought an ornament from our honeymoon in Hawaii. Our plan is to buy an ornament from every vacation or journey we take, so every year our Christmas tree is like a little time capsule. What I love about my parents tree is you can walk up to it, see the 1993 Disney ornament and immediately have a conversation starter. I want that for my family.

Overall, it’s not a bad start us new newlyweds. It’s fun to snuggle on the couch and look at our first-ever Christmas tree. I don’t know about you, but I find something so magical about Christmas.

Psst…did you notice that we bought the Target tree topper I talked about a couple weeks ago? It came in gold and silver, and we snagged the silver option. It’s so pretty with the lights both on and off!

15 thoughts on “Fa La La La…our Christmas tree!

  1. Thanks for stopping by! I hear you on the lights, we went from a scrawny fake tree last year to a real tree this year and our three strands of lights look pretty sad haha!

  2. Beautiful tree! I love the bride and groom ornament. Last year I purchased a pretty wedding cake for the year of our marriage…so special 😉 I also love the type of tree you went with!

  3. Your tree is gorgeous! Jesse and I had the same problem with the lights disappearing inside the tree so we are doubling our amount of lights next year. I really love the Lennox ornament and the frogs! So cute! I’m on the hunt for an “Our First Christmas” ornament and I love the idea of collecting ornaments on vacation, so now I need a Disney one too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

