Heavy Heart

On Friday I found that out my dog wasn’t doing well, and we had to put her to sleep on Monday. Because of that, I haven’t been in the mood to write on the blog. I’m sad, but I feel relieved that she’s no longer in pain.  Truthfully, I selfishly kept hoping she’d start feeling a little better so we wouldn’t have to put her down, but that didn’t happen. By the end of her days, she could barely walk, cried when you even touched her, and was almost completely blind. It was selfish to keep her around just because we were too sad to let her go.

It’s kind of full circle that she passed right before Christmas, as she was a Christmas present to me and my sister. Lucy was a dog with such a personality, she was like a human. I could tell funny “Lucy stories” all day long. Care to know my favorite?

My family is a bunch of runners. When Lucy was about 4 months old, my dad took her to the running trails about two miles from my home. He let Lucy off her leash so she could run around and chase squirrels (she was a hunting dog, after all!) and after a while, he realized Lucy wasn’t with him anymore. He spent two hours walking around the woods, calling her name and whistling. She always answered to “Swinging on a Star.” He finally decided he needed to go home and break it to his daughters that he lost the dog. As he drove home and pulled into the driveway, trying to come up with a story to tell us, he saw Lucy sitting on our front porch…just waiting for him. She just looked at him like, “Where have you been, buddy?”

That was my girl, Lucy.

To help keep the memory alive of my Christmas pup, I bought both my mom and myself a  glass beagle ornament for our tree. I rush delivered them, so fingers crossed the package arrives before Saturday. I hope so, because I’d love to be able to give my mom this on Christmas.

RIP Lucy. You sure were a great dog. We are all going to miss you.

Lucy wearing her "flower girl dress" the morning of my wedding

9 thoughts on “Heavy Heart

  1. It sounds like Lucy was a wonderful friend…. what a lot of love and happiness a special dog like Lucy can bring into our lives… and it sounds like she was blessed to have a family like yours…I’m so sorry for your loss…but happy that you shared so many years together.

Leave a Reply

