Book Review: A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness

 
A Discovery of Witches
by Deborah  Harkness
592 pages
Available for purchase here

I do love me some witch/vampire love stories. And boy oh boy does A Discovery of Witches deliver

Diana Bishop comes from a distinguished and powerful line of witches, but wants nothing to do with her skill set. Absolutely nothing. She has spent her life denying her powers, focusing on her career as a scholar. But all that changes amongst the stacks of Oxford’s Bodleian Library, where she unwittingly stumbles upon a bewitched alchemical manuscript while doing research. This discovery stirs up the fantasy world, bringing forth daemons, witches and well, one particularly good looking vampire — all interested in finding out more about Ms. Bishop, the only person who can break the spell on the manuscript.

I read this book back in January, began this review and well…just stopped blogging. I feel like I need to post this review even if it’s SUPER late, because the book really was that good. This isn’t your typical romance novel. Harkness does a great job weaving in suspense and mystery, and throws the readers quite a few curve balls with the different mystical elements. I would say the 2nd half of the book whips the floor with the first half, but that’s just because you’ve gotten through all the “setting of the stage” and background and are finally totally immersed in the rich history – and mystery – of the supernatural world.

This book is the first in All Souls Trilogy. The second book is actually out now, but I haven’t read it just yet (soon, soon!) If you enjoy books about magic and forbidden love, I’m telling you – this series is for you!

My rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I’m big time behind on writing book reviews (that’s what happens when you go on a 9 month blogging break!), but if you want to check out the books I have recently read – please become my friend on Good Reads! My username is Ajanelewis. Hope to see you on there!

One thought on “Book Review: A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness

Leave a Reply

